American Experts with Prominent Entrepreneur and Openbox Founder, Rob Watts

By Aurora DeRose
4 min readJun 29, 2020
Prominent Entrepreneur and Openbox Founder, Rob Watts
Prominent Entrepreneur and Openbox Founder, Rob Watts

Q: We are talking to prominent entrepreneur Rob Watts who is a Canadian citizen, is that true?

Yes.

Q: Let us start from the beginning, where were you born?

Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada.

Q: Did you grow up in a home where your mother or father was in business with themselves?

Yes, my father was in business for himself.

Q: What did your father do for a living, Rob?

Construction Management.

Q: Did you know in high school that you wanted to be in business for yourself or an entrepreneur?

Yes, since I was 14 years old I wanted to be an entrepreneur.

Q: Do you happen to remember, other than your father’s business, what attracted you to the entrepreneur life?

It was that all of the wealthiest people in Vancouver dropped out of school. So, I figured that there was no school that could teach me to get that amount of wealth when they were all working at a younger age and not going to school.

Q: So, at what age did you start your entrepreneur venture?

I was working straight out of high school running my own business working in courier delivery. I started generating quite a bit of money.

Q: So, at a very young age you learned that getting paid by the hour is the path to poverty and getting paid by the production is the path to prosperity, is that true?

Yes, that is very true.
Q: When did you start your first official business? Tell me more about that.

My first real official business is Openbox.

Q: What is Openbox?

Openbox is a company that takes returned electronics, refurbishes them, and sells them like new with the same warranty as the new product.

Q: Was this your idea?

Yes.

Q: What year did you create this idea?

About 15 or 16 years ago.

Q: Openbox has had a massive amount of success. What is it that you believe has been the key to success with Openbox?

I think my determination and will to want it to be successful.

Q: In order to be successful, entrepreneurs must have an iron will, is that true?

Yes, it must be unforgiving.

Q: If we took the success of Openbox in the last 16 years, on average hours a week how much do you work a week?

I work about 15 hours a day; I am constantly working. I don’t stop working. I love to work every day if I can.

Q: Most entrepreneurs, who most people working for a living don’t, actually love what they do. If you were talking to young entrepreneurs right now, what are 3 things you should do and 3 things you should not do to be a successful entrepreneur?

I think the #1 is to not let society determine who you are and tell you who you should or shouldn’t be. A strong will is crucial to be successful. If you can’t vision your success, you will never be successful. If you surround yourself with negative people, you will become negative.

Q: A lot of people in America have started to think like a victim. A successful entrepreneur can’t think like a victim, is that true?

Yes. They cannot think like that at all.

Q: What else should an entrepreneur do? Read books about business, audio tapes, etc?

They should network themselves with people in business. I haven’t been able to read a book or listen to an audio tape but I hear they work well for some people.

Q: So, you have to have a group of friends or mentors that might be able to encourage you or teach you about entrepreneurship?

Yes. That is very important to be surrounded by people who think alike and believe in you because most people don’t want to believe in you, they want to drag you down just like they have been.

Q: As you look back in your life, is there any regret you wish you could teach to someone?

No. I live my life to the fullest all of the time.

Q: What are some of the things that people who aspire to be entrepreneurs not do? What are some mistakes that you see people make?

Not knowing how much time and dedication it is to run a business and leaving a job and becoming your own boss to feed your family is the scariest thing you can do.

Q: Any entrepreneurs that have influenced or inspired you in your life?

James Patterson is an entrepreneur here in Vancouver, British Columbia. He started off as a used car salesman and now he is a multi-billionaire. I used to meet him all the time when I was delivering boxes in the elevator.

Q: Was he encouraging, kind, or supportive to you?

Yes, he was.

Q: If people all over the world are reading this and want to learn more about Openbox, what is the best website they can go to?

Openbox.ca

--

--